The Flash

 “There is such a place as fairyland – but only children can find the way to it. And they do not know that it is fairyland until they have grown so old that they forget the way. One bitter day, when they seek it and cannot find it, they realize what they have lost; and that is the tragedy of life. On that day the gates of Eden are shut behind them and the age of gold is over. Henceforth they must dwell in the common light of common day. Only a few, who remain children at heart, can ever find that fair, lost path again; and blessed are they above mortals. They, and only they, can bring us tidings from that dear country where we once sojourned and from which we must evermore be exiles. The world calls them its singers and poets and artists and story-tellers; but they are just people who have never forgotten the way to fairyland.”

~L.M. Montgomery (The Story Girl)

Dear Readers,

L.M. Montgomery has been one of my favorite writers from the time I was a tween and I first read Emily Climbs.  I was enamored by her main protagonist, Emily, who loved writing, life, nature, and was filled with “gumption.”  She experienced “the flash” and from the moment I read about her experience in the text, I felt at home between those pages I eagerly devoured (metaphorically speaking of course 🙂 ).  Emily writes, “Words are such fascinating things. . . The very sound of some of them–‘haunted’–‘mystic’–for example, gives me the flash. (Oh, dear! But I have to italicize the flash. It isn’t ordinary–it’s the most extraordinary and wonderful thing in my whole life. When it comes I feel as if a door had swung open in a wall before me and given me a glimpse of–yes, of heaven).”  Lovely!  She summarized for years how I felt as a small child when stories would sneak up from behind and demand I write them by nightlight (risking my mom or dad catching me awake when I was already supposed to be fast asleep on a school night). 

I hope never to forget the feeling when I capture a moment so real, so intense, so full of passion or grief or joy.  When I am allowed glimpses into my past from my muses and these backward glances overwhelm me, I can once again BE that barefoot four-year old child riding a green bike with a suede banana seat or I can taste honeysuckle nectar on my tongue or I can inhale the neighbors’ perfumed orange blossoms that fill me with summer calm.  I am so grateful for emotions that may be expressed in words, words that are as real to me as this laptop I am typing on or the comfy bed I sleep in or the stir fry I will later make.  Today, I was granted this gift of just BEing and I am thankful.

xoxo,

Pamela

10 thoughts on “The Flash”

  1. Fairies and woodsprits make childhood magical, wondrous, and beautiful. My daughter is fascinated with them I love to see the magic in her eyes and the brightness her face takes on when she talks about them. In fact while were in OR we are going to the top of the mountains to look for a fairy circle.
    Beautiful post sweetness
    Xoxo
    Jessica

    1. Awh Jessica my daughter was enthralled when she was young too. We even discovered a fairy ring once complete with flowers :-). Ohhh, I’m jealous! I’d love to join you! xoxoxo
      Pamela

  2. “The Flash” is superb, and awakens the heart of the child within. My daughter and I sit in the backyard yesterday, she with her camera, me with my cat, and she remarks that our “secret” garden is a fairyland. I’ve pondered this ever since, and wondered what gives it that aura. Must be the trees, the deep forest greens, the birds, and the wildness that holds the magic. This must be what we as the adults have lost touch with: the child’s wild mind, the imaginative eye, the spontaneous way we lived and moved once upon a time.

    1. Debra,
      I will have a secret garden someday :-). May I visit your trees and deep forest greens??? Pretty please? The wild does hold magic I’m convinced.

  3. Pam,
    I hope you never forget the fairies that lived outside your front door when we were little. I know they still live there and are up to their dirty deeds, and stunts. I swear we really did see them and don’t forget the little ghosts too. We did have such a magical childhood. I wouldn’t change any of it for anything. We had such crazy, and wonderful imaginations. Must have been all the books we read mingling in there.
    Loved reading this!

    Thanks for taking me back in time for a while,
    Tammy

    1. Awh Tammy! The fairies are still here and leprechauns and elves visit on an annual basis. On cloudy days, spirits might be seen flitting about the wooden house around the cul-de-sac! We had wonderful childhoods and I never want to forget all those experiences! You were the first person to tell me about the honeysuckle flowers that grew along your neighbor’s fence! Books + active imaginations made for excitement! I’ll never forget when we “rode” the floating dock out into the lake!! Glad you stopped by friend,

      Pam

Let's Chat