The Universe

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth . . .”
~Genesis 1:1 (Douay–Rheims Bible)

Could you see from
your celestial heavens
Earth’s axial tilt 23.44°?

Or did you write off the
slant as a slight shake of
the Creator’s wrist, a tremor?

Maybe it was the cosmic
dust so diffracting that
irritated your sight.

Anyway, you should
know that your galaxy is
gravitationally bound-

like the rest of ours. Along
with those stars and inter-
stellar clouds, “dark matter.”

Oh, and your constellation?
One of 88 dubbed “Emu in
the sky.” But it’s true.

Yes, we heard it-your
Big Bang. Really, we did.
Now, there’s just evolution.

© Pamela Rossow

18 thoughts on “The Universe

  1. This is an excellent portrayal of the cosmos and the creation, thanks for posting this beautiful picutre of the cosmos. I am now following your blog posts as they have interested me and I am looking forward to see more posts in the site. If you would like to visit my blogsite , you are warmly welcomed at http://musewithcoffee.wordpress.com, and I invite you to read a brief excerpt Metaphors of Life in my blogsite :)

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I’m glad you liked the post. I like using science as metaphors. A wonderful aspect about poetry and prose is that they may be interpreted differently and there is no incorrect interpretation! I love the fluidity of this genre! I would be happy to drop over! Thanks again!
      P

  2. I check out astronomy quick reads all the time. Lotta stuff seems to be still big-banging out there. Universe still expanding. Leads me to ponder we are still at the moments away from the Bang beginning.

Let's Chat

