Apparently I’m a Swinger . . .

Apparently, I’m a swinger. I didn’t choose this label. It has more to do with birthright due to a certain, southern geographical location.

There are perks to being a swinger: there is more excitement in my life as I pass by people smiling and waving signs, cars honk not just out of annoyance but because they are supporting the smiling, sign waving people, there are rallies to attend, presidential debates to be had in nearby locales and there is pervasive excitement on a particular Tuesday that arrives every four years.

So here’s to another election and to living in Florida. I’m celebrating my native Floridian status in my state which typically makes headline news—hanging chads, anyone?

If you haven’t voted yet, there’s still time. Get out there, fellow Americans. While you’re at it, have some fun like the guy who cheered today as he headed into the polls. You know I cheered back.

Among all of the divisiveness, bad mouthing and annoying political ads, it really is cool to be an American and have our votes counted. Remember the words of Larry Sabato, “Every election is determined by the people who show up.” Swing state or not, show up.

4 thoughts on “Apparently I’m a Swinger . . .”

Let's Chat

