The Freedom of the Moon ~Robert Frost

I’ve tried the new moon tilted in the air
Above a hazy tree-and-farmhouse cluster
As you might try a jewel in your hair.
I’ve tried it fine with little breadth of luster,
Alone, or in one ornament combining
With one first-water start almost shining.

I put it shining anywhere I please.
By walking slowly on some evening later,
I’ve pulled it from a crate of crooked trees,
And brought it over glossy water, greater,
And dropped it in, and seen the image wallow,
The color run, all sorts of wonder follow.

~Robert Frost

12 thoughts on “The Freedom of the Moon ~Robert Frost”

  1. Haven’t read Neruda. Heard much about him and caught snippets from time to time, I’ll have to take you up on your recommendation.

    1. Oh yes! Do! Then tell me what you think! I have some of his works on my site. Sonnet XVII: I do not love you as if you were brine-rose, topaz is one of my faves.

      1. I’m still hard-pressed to find a poet I like more. There’s just something about his poetry that speaks to me.🙂

Let's Chat

