Not

Time to celebrate.  Definitely NOT because the Panthers’ lost, again.  Not because I’m sitting here eating a couple pieces of fabulous chocolate.  Not because I’m happy to be feeling better.  Not because I get to go see my son swing a stick and whack a puck tomorrow.  Not because I have awesome friends who I am incredibly grateful for.  Not because most of the Christmas dust is packed and put away.  Not because my nephew scored three goals in his soccer game today.  Not even because I have the most amazing family in the galaxy.  This time, it’s about me (not because I’m NOT grateful for all of the above [except for the Cats losing] because I am). I hesitate to say this because I have a long standing tradition of not taking credit when credit is due.  I get shy when compliments are given.  If sitting, I slump as far down as possible.  My darker, Mediterranean descent skin turns reddish when accolades are directed my way.  But, for once, I’m going to give myself a compliment and mean it (I’m learning). Way to go!  You worked you’re a$$ off and accomplished a lot in a short amount of time! Of course, there’s more ahead to conquer, but, you will!  There.  An affirmation for myself.  I think it’s about time we, as humans, start to build ourselves up instead of tear ourselves down.  I’m not talking narcissism or arrogance.  Just showing ourselves a little love (and cutting ourselves some slack when necessary). So, hey, here’s an affirmation for YOU!  YOU’VE done a great job (insert specifics)!   YOU should celebrate!   Pat YOURself on the back!  Here’s to YOU! Cheers!

10 thoughts on “Not

  1. The easy part is giving compliments, the more difficult skill, I have discovered, is learning to accept compliments. But to deny a compliment is to deny someone else the pleasure of being the giver. So to all of us out there who are shy about receiving compliments, RELAX and enjoy it!
    Thanks for a wonderful post!
    cath

  2. I love the simplicity of this. Maybe I should add it to my list of things to do before I go to bed. “Pat everyone on the back, including me” :)

Let's Chat

