Boot Camp

I never enlisted in the military. Senior year in high school, I wanted nothing to do with recruiters. Somehow, without my consent, I was drafted on January 16th, 2006. Boot camp it was.  Looking back, I learned the hard way. Crawling under barbed wire. Remaining calm when drill sergeants got up in my face. Practicing my core values of honesty and integrity. I spent time in Purgatory. No one told me what I really needed was to revolt, to find my voice and use it, with force. To pull my Rights out of my pocket, brush them off, and exercise them. To look at the red, white, and blue and know I deserved justice. I learned the hard way. There’s no going back. No more deception.  Just raw truth.

Let's Chat

