How Are You?

Image from Lenika Scott

A friend of mine asked me something today in the midst of conversation.

How are you?  I continued on with small talk not fully answering the question.

How are you?  A second time.  More small talk.

How are you?  Yes, a third time and quite the persistent  friend.

I had to respond.  Honestly.  Without a smile to hide behind or chattering about my children or exchanging information about the weather.  With three words asked three times, this person intuitively reached through space and forced me to turn the flashlight on myself  My Self.  Yes, the misspelling was intentional (I know there’s grammar police watching).  There’s something about shoving together my and self that can, at times, lead to overlooking our cores, our inner beings, ourselves Our Selves.  When my and self are married, the word can be said too quickly.  It can slip too easily off the tongue.  When I dissected it and separated the word, I had to stop and think.  How was My Self? My response necessitated an I.  I was forced to define myself as I was.  Not as how my hair was fixed or what color shirt I was wearing or if I had make-up on.  I had to glance inwardly, look through my lens of awareness, and speak the truth.

How are you?  Yes, it’s great that you are happily married or contentedly single or that you just got a new puppy or that your boss acknowledged your hard work with a raise.

How are you? Aside from having to shuffle your children to basketball or throw together a meal in thirty minutes or grade a stack of papers.

How are you?  Really?

24 thoughts on “How Are You?

  1. I am grateful. Another blogger said that the opposite of sadness is gratitude, because you can never be sad when you’re grateful. There’s more than a grain of truth there, I believe.

  2. I am content within and happy on the outside doing what i love, which is blogging, and loving those people who i touch. Deary me i’m sounding far too philosophical in my young but maturing age.

  3. My Self?? Ok, for most of the time. I like the fact that I started writing when I did and enjoy doing it, am enjoying the company of beautiful friends through the blogging world, my domestic life is ok….thriving…

  4. I am on the edge of a precipice and am waiting to jump with my arms outstretched, into the unknown. It’s exhilarating and liberating at the same time. New beginnings are here and hopefully, will make life a wonderful journey, here onward.

    • Yes, I find that often the truth needs to be veiled just for the sake of the conversation. Of course, it depends on who we are talking to (if we can be real or not). . . Thanks for stopping over.

  5. Awwwwwww I have a few I can hide behind LOLOL….but Bongo would say I’m FINE …Bonnie would say…not so good….how are you Pam????? As always…XOXOXOXOX

  6. I am in limbo… neither here nor there. Have no idea what will happen tomorrow… I am literally going one day at a time..
    Having said that my internal pendulum is neither right nor left it is here….

  7. How am I? So much less frazzled, worn and torn, then I was over a year ago. I am praying with purpose, depending more and more upon the Lord, searching His word, seeking His voice. This is bringing peace and the certainty of His love even amidst the chaos erupting in the world: the floods, the fires, the famines, the wars, the strife, the inhumanity – peace; the peace that passes all understanding.
    How are you?

Let's Chat

