La famiglia è la patria del cuore

photo by dreamstime

Last night, I heard an often repeated Italian expression that, because of recent circumstances, means even more to me than it did four days ago. La famiglia è la patria del cuore or your family is the homeland of your heart. 

We, Americans, are familiar with the expression home is where the heart is. Basically, the same sentiment. No matter where we go or how many miles (or emotions) separate us or how long we are away or whether we nag, smile, bicker, or hug, la famiglia è la patria del cuore. Simple. 

I know how lucky I am to be a thread in this handcrafted fabric.  I am grateful beyond words that I have a dad and mom who have always loved me, protected me, wanted the best for me. That I have a brother who, no matter how little time we get to spend alone together, will always be my best friend. That, even when my children and I are apart, their hearts are safe within my heart. La famiglia è la patria del cuore. 

It’s how my ancestors lived, breathed, prayed, loved, ate, drank, slept. It’s the fundamental stitches my grandparents sewed that now entwine my heart with each of my family members’ hearts. La famiglia è la patria del cuore. It’s the sometimes imperfect loops that still include everything and everyone I am tied to. It’s my roots, my core, my center. La famiglia è la patria del cuore.

10 thoughts on “La famiglia è la patria del cuore

  1. Beautiful! I have been missing my brother {the one that is still here} so I told him the other day. He agreed we would speak more often..
    Now if only my sons would remember to call their Mama..lol

    • Awh, Doreen. . .I know what you mean. Life just gets crazy sometimes and it’s those special moments when you get to reconnect that mean so much! Ha-ha, it’s true. If only our kids knew what it means to us. . .xo

  2. Family is home and heart. I am enjoying my time with my brother and his family…. It has brought an understanding and closeness that would never be broken…

Let's Chat

