The “c” Word

So many people use it every day. It’s one of the most hated words (probably THE most despised word). Yet, we hear it over and over again. It’s not until it’s used to describe what’s happening to OUR friends, OUR grandparents, OUR selves, OUR moms, OUR brothers, OUR sisters, OUR children, OUR dads, OUR aunts, OUR uncles, OUR loved ones that the word slams us face down onto the asphalt and tries to drag us backwards. But to positive test results, we say, “sCrew you!” Those of us who either receive The Call or hear about The Call (later when our loved ones tell us about it) encounter the initial effects of “c.” During those moments, “c” seems to have us pinned. We cry. We rant. We get pissed off. We crumple. Then, we maneuver out of its grip. We stand up. Put on the gloves. Step into the centers of the rings. We don’t wait for the first punches. We throw them. We fight, hard. We love, fiercely. We feel, deeply. We live with awareness. Thankfully, there’s no “c” in H-O-P-E. Just a whole lot of positive energy and prayers.

(Dad got The Call today)

9 thoughts on “The “c” Word

  1. Pingback: Pamanner

  2. There can be light at the end of the tunnel. I completed 27 chemo treatments then surgery, followed by 33 radiation treatments. I see the light everyday and for that I am thankful. I hate the “c” word but, it has given me a new perspective :) Prayers to all!

  3. I wish you well Pamela. Sometimes, I’d ask myself if it’s the children’s presence that keeps me from uttering one…but I think it’s just taming the tongue. Well, I’ll go for the word HOPE, hahaha…and look for more positive ones :)

Let's Chat

